Fanfiction Information:

Story title“Grandmother’s Ring”
Main charactersAmida Martinez, Utau Cortes
Supporting charactersN/A
RelationshipsN/A
Summary:Utau complains about having lost a cheap jewelry piece on the beach, but is it the truth? Perhaps, all this is just a set-up, to get Amida, to find her engagement ring, buried in the beach sands?

A “Mermaid Princess Amelia and the Lost Symphony” Fanfiction:

“Grandmother’s Ring”

Utau was upset, and Amida couldn’t get him to cheer up. He had spoken about a glass jewelry piece he lost a few days ago.

“Maybe you forgot where you put it,” Amida suggested gently.

“I don’t think so,” he shook his head, looking depressed. “I think I’ve lost it…”

Amida swam towards him and touched his face. “How important is this piece to you?”

“It was my grandmother’s. She gave it my mother, and my mother gave it to me before she passed away.”

Looking into his eyes, she could feel the pain in them.

“I didn’t know it meant so much to you. I’ll help you look for it. Where was the last place you had it with you?”

“I don’t know…I’m not so sure, and I think I had it with me last on the beach. “ I wanted to see how it looks like under full sunlight… Dumb, I know.”

“That’s okay,” Amida said softly. “Let’s go and search for it on the beach.”

They swam out of Antemidia to the nearest beach.

“What are we looking for, exactly?” Amida asked.

“It’s a ring. It has my grandmother’s name engraved on it,” Utau said.

 “Alright. Let’s get started, less talking and more searching! It’s getting dark already, and we should hurry up so that we can get back to the sea.”

“You’re right. Let’s start digging in case sand has buried it.”

“Digging? We’re going to dig?”

“Sand could’ve covered it.”

“But how are we supposed to dig up everywhere?” Amida couldn’t believe that he was asking about that.

“Well, you could dig that spot, and I will dig here,” Utau said as he pointed somewhere.

Amida kneeled immediately and dug her hands into the sand as she searched for the lost ring. She knew how much Utau’s grandmother meant to him and was determined to help him out with the ring. Busy with her search, she  slowly moved away from the waves that crept on the shore. A gentle breeze played with her hair, and she re-tied her hair to the back.

“Oh! I think I’ve found something!” Amida cried out as she dug out a small golden box. “It’s a box. But, Utau, it’s just a box!”

She whirled around. Utau knelt on his tail.

“Open it,” he slowly said.

Amida gasped as she rose from the sand. “No, no, no. Am I dreaming? Are you proposing?”

He nodded, smiling widely.

Amida gasped, and her hands trembled as she opened the box. She brought out the ring. The stones in the ring sparkled under the subtle glare of the orange-pink sunset. Utau took the ring from her trembling hands.

“I never thought I would be that kind to beg a woman to marry me. But meeting you has been the best thing that ever happened in my life. I love you and will always love you. But, Amida, will you marry me?” Utau said.

Her lips quivered. “Yes.”

Tears ran down her cheeks as she thrust her hand towards him. He slid the ring into her left hand’s fourth finger. He then crawled closer to her, and reached out with his arms extended. She fell into his embrace and rested her head on his chest.

Read other fanfiction in the same categories: